Pennsylvania Broadband Development Authority

Board Meeting Minutes April 5, 2023 Microsoft Teams Meeting

Board members and voting designees in attendance:

- Secretary Uri Monson, Office of the Budget, Chairman
- Mark Critz on behalf of Acting Secretary Russell Redding, Department of Agriculture
- Mike Hanna on behalf of Acting Secretary Rick Siger, Department of Community and Economic Development
- Dr. David Volkman on behalf of Acting Secretary Khalid Mumin, Department of Education
- Matt Bembenick on behalf of Acting Secretary Reggie McNeil, Department of General Services
- Senator John Kane, Assistant Secretary
- Representative Rob Matzie
- Representative Carl Walker Metzgar
- Senator Kristin Phillips-Hill, Secretary
- Chairwoman Gladys Brown Dutrieuille, PUC
- Dr. Kyle Kopko, Center for Rural PA

Designees in attendance:

- Phil Kirchner
- Chloe Mandara
- David Screven
- Zach Reber
- Dr. Laura Dimino
- Matt Franchak
- Rich Pronesti

Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED) staff in attendance:

- Brandon Carson
- Paul Opiyo
- Kalie Snyder
- Leigh Walter
- Lori Irwin
- Rob Teplitz
- Pam Frontino
- Kyle Snyder
- Greg Alliger
- Allison Brubaker
- Britt Muniz
- Sarah Souder
- Greg Welker
- Colin Parry
- Penny Ickes

Guests in attendance:

- Brian Regli, Governor's Office
- Jim Warta, Consolidated Communications
- Steve Warhola, Chief of Staff, Senator Kane
- Dr. Greg Koons, PAIU
- Brian Barno, Broadband Communications Association of PA
- Todd Eachus, Broadband Communications Association of PA
- Jim Mercante, Chester County Digital Alliance
- Jeanne Shearer, Windstream/Kinetic
- Jennifer Cloonan, Frontier Communications
- Susan Carter, PA Telephone Association
- Casey Fellinger, Milliron Goodman
- Catharine Conner, Milliron Goodman
- Elana Frazier, Ichor Strategies
- Lindsey Ringquist, Adams County
- Andrew French, Fayette County Redevelopment Authority
- Bailey Thumm, PA Farm Bureau
- Jan VaDeCarr, Greenlight Networks
- Tom Beresnyak, Penn State Extension
- Harry Crissy, Penn State Extension
- Morgan Webb, CCS Energy
- Carrie Cleary, PA Department of Education
- Ashley Pollard, City of Philadelphia
- Juliet Fink-Yates, City of Philadelphia
- Nicole Ugarte, NTIA
- Janice Sahady Crile, Temple University
- Heidi Norman, City of Pittsburgh
- Kate Rivera, Technology Learning Collaborative
- Sam Garfinkel, Michael Baker International
- Kristen Ritchey, Comcast
- Mike Sage, CCAP
- Kevin Sunday, PA Chamber
- Chris Miller, Susquehanna Broadband
- Brandon Brenize, Adams County
- Sascha Meinrath, Penn State University
- Courtney Accurti, Michael Baker International
- Kris Anderson, IBEW
- Beth Andreoli, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- Frank Baier, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- Brett Biggica, BrightSpeed
- Bill Sproull, DZSI
- Brandon Peters, Southern Alleghenies Planning & Development Commission
- Brandyn Smith, Delta One
- Brendan Salyards, York County Economic Alliance
- Brent Jagueneau-Siegel, Ichor Strategies
- Brian Rengert, Pa State Association of Township Supervisors
- Doug Brown, Dauphin County

- Christine Lalor, IHTC
- Clint Cullison, GreenLee Partners
- Jennifer Cloonan, Frontier Communications
- John Conley, Agile Networks
- Elizabeth Crow, Michael Baker International
- David Ashton, Graybar
- Lisa Anne Davis, Penn State University
- Deb Frawley, Crawford County
- Dustin Bishop, Southern Alleghenies Planning & Development Commission
- Emme Reiser, PA Realtors
- Sara Fortnam, York County
- Henry McCreary, Ondas
- Jeremia Holmes-Ploor, Frontier Communications
- Ian Horowitz, Altice USA
- Jackie McCarthy, Jsitel
- Jarred Heuer, Clarion County
- Jennifer Algoe Keaton, Broadband Communications Association of PA
- Jenn Blatz, Persad Center
- Jennifer Wakeman, Drive Industry
- Jess Funk, Clarion County
- Jim Skjeveland, Rolka Loube
- Joe Carella, Entrustsol
- Joe Kearns, ACD Telecom
- John Peters, CalChip Connect
- Phil Jones, Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank
- Joe Gerdes, PA State Association of Township Supervisors
- Scott Kramer, SEDA COG
- Kyle Rosner, All Points Broadband
- Lyndsey King, Northwest PA Commission
- Andrea MacDonald, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- Matt Fine, One Strategies
- Matt Wiertel, VelocityNet
- Stacy McNew, Agile Networks
- Josh Motzer, BrightSpeed
- Kristen Moyer, SEDA COG
- Tom Musgrove, Crown Castle
- Nicole Fidler, Malady Wooten
- Robert Omberg, Comcast
- Owen Purcel, BT Group
- Peter Murray, Dense Networks
- Alyssa Pistininzi, Penn State University
- Rich Maietta, PA Telephone Company
- Riley Seals, Bear Com
- Sonny Hunt, Ad Tell
- Steve Hill, Satellite Broadcasting and Communications Association
- Steve Schwerbel, Wireless Internet Service Providers Association
- Tammy Dulaney, Northwest PA Commission
- Tim Hippensteel, Drive Industry

- Tim Lin, Parthenon
- Kate Ulreich, Pittsburgh University
- Christine Verdier, US Senate
- Curt Williams, Pittsburgh City

I. Call to Order

Chairman Monson called the meeting to order at 3:04 PM.
Kalie Snyder conducted a roll call of the board members and confirmed quorum.

II. Approval of March 16, 2023, Meeting Minutes

Chairman Monson asked for questions and comments on the minutes as presented to the Board. Seeing none he asked for a motion to approve the minutes as presented to the Board. Motion made by Dr. Kyle Kopko. Motion was seconded by Matt Bembenick. Chairman Monson asked for all Board members to approve or deny the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

III. Capital Projects Fund – Broadband Infrastructure Program Guidelines

Chairman Monson commented that program guidelines were updated based on the discussion at the previous meeting and the failure of the guidelines to be approved. He provided an overview of the program purpose and asked for a motion to approve the guidelines as presented to the Board. Motion made by Mike Hanna. Motion seconded by Senator Phillips-Hill and Chairwoman Dutrieuille.

Senator Kane made a motion to increase the cap on awards from \$10 million to \$15 million. Chairman Monson asked for a second on the motion, there wasn't one. The motion failed.

Chairman Monson returned to the motion to approve the guidelines as presented to the Board. He asked for comments on the guidelines, there were none. He asked Kalie Snyder to conduct a roll call vote. Motion passed unanimously.

IV. Public Comment

Chairman Monson asked Kalie Snyder to conduct public comment. Kalie reminded the public of the format to provide comments and asked that they remain under 2 minutes.

Bill Perkins with ICCN, asked when the approved guidelines will be published. Chairman Monson responded that they will be posted on Monday, April 10th.

V. Adjournment

Chairman Monson called for a motion to adjourn. Motion made by Mike Hanna. Motion seconded by Senator Kane. Meeting adjourned at 3:14 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Senator Kristin Phillips-Hill Secretary