Pennsylvania Broadband Development Authority

Board Meeting Minutes

February 15, 2022

60 East Wing, Capitol Building & Microsoft Teams Meeting

Board members and designees in attendance:

- Senator John Kane
- Dr. Kyle Kopko, Center for Rural PA
- Representative Carl Walker Metzgar
- Secretary Noe Ortega, Secretary of Education
- Senator Kristin Phillips-Hill
- Secretary Russell Redding, Secretary of Agriculture
- David Screven
- Representative Pam Snyder
- Secretary Greg Thall, Chair
- Secretary Curt Topper, Secretary of General Services
- Secretary Neil Weaver, Secretary of Community and Economic Development

Governor's Office staff in attendance:

- Secretary TJ Yablonski
- Angela Fitterer
- Erin Wachter
- Zachary Reber

Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED) staff:

- Sheri Collins
- Kalie Snyder
- Paul Opiyo
- Leigh Walter
- Terri Wills
- Lori Irwin
- Rob Teplitz
- Greg Welker
- Ted Ritsick
- Neil Fowler
- Colin Parry
- Melanie Kessler
- Jennifer Lench
- Lauren Atwell-Bass

Guests in attendance:

- James Martini
- Carrie Cleary
- Brett Biggica Lumen
- Josh Motzer
- Julia Brinjac
- Matthew Fine
- Aaron Young
- Greg Duncan
- Mark VanOuse Zito Media
- Brad Moore
- Jeff Whitman AECOM
- Christine Meinhart-Fritz
- Dan Maguire
- Bill Risse ConxxNE
- Josh Easton
- David Soffer WANRack
- AJ Taylor Hillman Family Foundations
- Dan Davis
- Orlando Almonte
- Jamie Kopko
- William Price
- Jen McCay
- Lisa Salsgiver
- Mike (Last Name not provided)
- Dave Glass
- Matt (Last Name not provided)
- Gary Davis
- Joseph Gerdes III
- Darrin E. Youker
- HR King
- Michael Steffan Pennsylvania State University, Government and Community Relations
- Jim Mercante
- Vanessa Getz Salvo Strategies
- Jim Ladlee Pennsylvania State University, Penn State Extension
- Bob Roland Zito Media
- Sascha Meinrath Pennsylvania State University, X-Lab
- Scott Zubek Tioga County
- Jennifer DeChant
- Matt Moyer
- Carl Yastremski
- Julia Grubbs
- Scott Burford
- Karen Lightman

- Sarah Hollister
- Kelly Dela Cruz
- Allie (Last Name not provided)
- Jessica Sahl
- Kerry Golden
- Norm Parish
- John Timney
- Justin Warren
- Alka Patel Comcast
- Andrew Buss City of Philadelphia
- Corey Block Westmoreland County
- Mark Lipka
- Jason Kotch
- Jim D'Innocenzo Comcast
- Kristen Ritchey Comcast
- Nick Rockwell
- Kaitlin Errickson
- Yesenia Bane Rockland Planning
- Curt Williams
- Jesse Monoski
- Colleen Gallagher
- Harry Crissy Pennsylvania State University, Penn State Extension
- Steve Brame PREA
- Patrick Grill
- Chris Lammando
- Pedro Romero
- Amy Sturges
- Joe L. (Last Name not provided)
- Ian Horowitz Tilson
- Ed Heasley
- Jennifer Halaszynski
- David Martin
- Bryant Daniels Starry
- Carolyn Rumbarger Sand Cherry Associates
- Jason Fajerski
- Carol Duffy McKean County Commissioner
- Curt Kosko
- John Espenshade
- Barb Burba Amerisite Wireless
- Brandon Carson Southern Alleghenies Planning and Development Commission
- Jeanne Shearer Windstream
- Gary Zingaretti Zingaretti Enterprises
- Steve Samara PA Telephone Association

- Chad Firestone Deloitte
- Matt Leonard PREA
- Todd Eachus Broadband Cable Association of Pennsylvania
- Brian Barno Broadband Cable Association of Pennsylvania
- MaryBeth Osborne Rolka Loube
- Doug Brown Dauphin County
- Jim Skjeveland Rolka Loube
- John McGrath Rolka Loube
- Dave Kerr AT&T
- Russ McDaid PA eCommerce Association

I. Welcome and Opening Remarks

Chairman Thall called the meeting to order at 10:13 AM. Sheri Collins conducted a roll call of the board members and confirmed quorum.

II. Board and Staff Introductions

Chairman Thall thanked everyone for attending and asked for members of the board to introduce themselves.

III. Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)

Chairman Thall called for questions and comments regarding the MOU.

Representative Metzgar made a motion to amend Section 1.A.(i) requiring that the hiring of the Executive Director be approved by the Board. Motion was seconded by Senator Phillips-Hill. Motion passed.

Representative Metzgar made a motion to approve the MOU, as amended. Motion was seconded by Chairman Thall. Motion passed.

IV. 2022-2023 Meeting Calendar

Chairman Thall asked for approval of the proposed Authority meeting dates for the remaining calendar year and 2023.

Senator Kane presented a motion to identify new dates outside of Tuesday and Thursday mornings, for review by the board. Sheri Collins noted the Senator's request and confirmed that a new scheduled would be circulated and that approval of the 2022-2023 Meeting Calendar would occur at the May meeting.

V. New Business

This inaugural meeting of the Pennsylvania Broadband Development Authority offered an opportunity for the Board members and staff to both share information and ask questions about the funding to be provided for specifically by the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) in conjunction with the Infrastructure Investments and Jobs Act (IIJA).

Staff from the Governor's Office and DCED provided detailed information to the Board including, but not limited to, information about federal resources and funding that Pennsylvania will receive for broadband purposes. Additionally, there was a great deal of discussion about the need for robust and accurate mapping, the development of the Pennsylvania State Broadband Plan, the utilization of subcommittees as outlined in Act 96 and the need for collaboration with local governments and industry partners and subject matter experts.

Sheri Collins acknowledged the work of Yvonne Hursh and her team at the Joint State Government Commission. She further noted that the work being done in conjunction with Senate Resolution 47 has laid the foundation for this Authority. Senator Phillips-Hill concurred with these comments.

Secretary Topper acknowledged Senator Phillips-Hill's request to staff to encourage conversation and receive input from industry regarding the State Broadband Plan. Additionally, he suggested engaging counsel with respect to the Adverse Interest Act. It was noted that DCED Chief Counsel, Lori Irwin, will serve as counsel to the Authority.

VI. Call for Public Comments

Public comments have been captured and recorded and are available upon request to DCED.

VII. Meeting Adjournment

Chairman Greg Thall made a motion to adjourn. Secretary Neil Weaver seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 11:17 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Kalie Snyder Executive Assistant